Friday, March 14, 2014

Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Unite Me by Tahereh MafiReading Level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 240 Pages
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Narration: First Person: Warner, Adam
Genre: Dystopian/Superpowers

The Shatter Me Series
Book One: Shatter Me
Book Two: Unravel Me
Book Three: Ignite Me
Novellas: Unite Me

Order On Amazon: Paperback
Order On Barnes and Noble:

Goodreads  Website  Twitter  Facebook

 Add To Goodreads
Goodreads Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

My Review:

Just a heads up, if you've already read Destroy Me and Fracture Me, there's no point in getting Unite Me. Unless of course, you just want a physical copy. The only "extra" content is Juliette's Journal. However, I don't really count that as extra because the entries are nothing new, with the exception of maybe one or two. The majority of them are just the little snippets from Shatter Me, Destroy Me, and Fracture Me combined. 

*May contain implications from Ignite Me, 
since I read that before I got my hands on these novellas.

Destroy Me:
It was interesting, peering into the world through Warner's point of view. I read that this novella played a major role in getting people to change their minds about Warner, and if I had read it before Ignite Me, I would've been no different. Since we were seeing situations through Juliette's point of view, we weren't privy to other essential information. Just because she believed something to be true, didn't mean that it was actually true. Like her, we were misguided into thinking one way, when really, something totally different transpired. Now, looking back, I see how Warner and Juliette are similar personality wise. They were both oppressed when they were kids, unable to be themselves for one reason or another. They lived in constant fear of what they were capable of or in constant fear of disappointing others. Because of this, they never fully shook off that sense of loneliness, even when they were surrounded by people. The dog scene through Warner's POV was perfect. The only thing that bothered me a bit was how much Warner and Juliette's internal thoughts sounded alike. Yeah, I know their personalities match each other, but I still would think that the phrasing of their words would vary.

Fracture Me:
Bored and irritated me. I understand where Adam is coming from, I really do, but there's a point in time when you have to trust others to be able to take care of themselves. Throughout the story, Adam kept on repeating the same mantra over and over again. I have to keep Juliette safe. She doesn't know anything about war. She's a helpless girl in need of saving. I must protect her. She should've stayed home where it was safe, but no one ever listens to me. GRAGUHEIUGHNKAJHED! Juliette may seem broken on the outside, but on the inside, she has a heart of steel. When it really counts, she won't hesitate to fight for herself and all of her loved ones. Yes, she may have seemed in need of saving in the beginning, but she didn't need it from anyone else. She needed to save herself, to realize that she wasn't the monster that everyone claimed her to be. Adam held her back, fell in love with the sheltered girl who needed his protection. Thing is, Juliette was never that girl.

On a completely unrelated note, WE NEED A NOVELLA FOR KENJI! Or maybe a spinoff or something. I want Kenji to have a happily ever after. 

Destroy Me- 4.5/5
Fracture Me- 3/5


  1. Nice review! I only read the one for Destroy Me since that's the next book I have to read. I was planning to read them in order. So I'll be back after I read Unravel Me!

    1. Lol that's probably what I should've done too. Unfortunately, I'm just too lazy to pick up novellas in the right order. xD

  2. i just finished unite me too. i loved warner's novella but adam's not so much. i agree that adam is holding back juliette. he likes her when she's broken and depends on him but warner knows her to be more and can stand on her own.

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    1. I apologize for that Clarity. I did not realize that comment was made, but I deleted it. For future references, I would never click on links that advertise stuff like that. 99% of the time it is a virus.


I love hearing from you guys and read every single comment posted! :D If you follow me or post a comment on my blog, I always try my best to return the favor. :) This is now an award free blog. I'm truly honored that you thought of me, but unfortunately I don't have enough time to nominate others. Happy reading, and I hope you enjoy my blog!